The library subscribes to over 100 different databases indexing and providing content in all disciplines – from law to health to psychology to communications. Most FSC students are familiar with Academic Search Premier, one of the largest inter-disciplinary databases. BUT we’re also going to start a new weekly feature on this blog, highlighting one of [...]
Posts Tagged ‘databases’
Database of the Week – Issues and Controversies
Posted in 1, tagged databases on November 18, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
Another NEW database trial – Mergent Online
Posted in 1, tagged databases, trials on June 26, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
Mergent Online contains company information and financials, including annual reports, EDGAR filings and more, on over 15,000 public US companies and over 20,000 non-US companies.
To access the trial, visit http://www.MergentOnline.com. Click on the Enter Mergent Online button on the top left of the landing page.
Username: fitchburg
Password: mergent
** Note: this trial only allows for 5 simultaneous [...]
New Database Trial – The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report
Posted in 1, tagged databases, political science, trial on June 24, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States’ principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Available [...]
Streaming music now available
Posted in 1, tagged databases on January 26, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
The library is excited to provide access to streaming music through four new databases:
African-American Song – The first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
American Song [...]
Some databases you might not know…
Posted in 1, tagged databases on December 2, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
Most students are familiar with EBSCO’s database Academic Search Premier. Broad, interdisciplinary, scholarly articles – what more do you need?
The FSC Gallucci-Cirio library actually subscribes to over 100 different databases, offering specific, authoritative, scholarly content on many different subjects. Some you might not have heard of:
America: History & Life – [...]
New Database: Ancestry.com
Posted in Uncategorized, tagged databases, genealogy, resources on September 12, 2007 | Leave a Comment »
Census data, birth and death records and military records are only some of the information you can find on our newest geneology database, Ancestry.com. Look up your own name and see what kind of records exist for you. Even try finding yourself!
Mental Measurements Yearbook – Trial available through October 5
Posted in 1, tagged databases, trials on September 11, 2007 | Leave a Comment »
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Trial access is limited to on-campus use only
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Our library is evaluating this product for the month of September. Try this and compare it to the current version we have in the library! Then let us know what you think.
New Database: Heritage Quest
Posted in 1, tagged databases, genealogy, resources on September 4, 2007 | Leave a Comment »
Do you need historical census data? Are looking for family records? Heritage Quest is a great place to find these things and more. This genealogy database is for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Student’s doing research on African Americans and slavery in the US [...]
Lexis Nexis has a new interface
Posted in 1, tagged databases, law on August 9, 2007 | Leave a Comment »
Lexis Nexis has a new interface, and we love it!! Regular searchers will find this much easier to use.
For those of you who haven’t used this one yet:
Our criminal justice students use this database heavily for legal news and court cases. It is also great for world newspapers, medical information and company dossiers.
New! Literary Reference Center database
Posted in 1, tagged databases, literature, resources on August 9, 2007 | Leave a Comment »
What is the Literary Reference Center database?
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; 75,000 articles of literary criticism; 130,000 author biographies; full [...]


